Reviews

Here is some of our review of what customers are saying about us! To see some pictures of the dishes cooked visit our gallery page. To see all the reviews on Facebook please visit our Facebook page here.

Reviews

  • positive review  Honestly amazing food! Best meal of my life so far, can’t wait to go again! X

    thumb Selina-jane Honeybunn
    5/31/2019

    positive review  Fabulous evening with amazing food. Will definitely be back!

    thumb Sherry Lees
    3/30/2019

    5 star review  Steve catered my parent’s 40th wedding anniversary. We enjoyed a delicious 5 course meal, tailored towards our tastes and food intolerances- perfectly executed by Steve. Correspondence and organisation was simple, dinner was cooked seamlessly around our evening timetable and the kitchen was spotless afterwards. Thanks Steve

    thumb Harriet Portia Davies
    6/05/2018
  • positive review  Wow. Seven courses of the most amazing desserts which are beautifully presented and tasted absolutely divine. I would recommend Steve’s pudding events. Thank you Steve will be back again !

    thumb Anne Marie Blake Sales
    6/14/2019

    5 star review  Thank you Stephen James for hosting a very special Dinner party in our home. Roxane Seamans and guests were spoilt with your amazing menu and cocktails...!!! Congratulations on your brilliant food critique review by 'Crumbs' food magazine. If your ever looking to host your own dinner party and not have to worry what's on the menu, then contact Stephen James. The guy is a Food Magician. ����

    thumb Paul Seamans
    10/03/2016

    5 star review  I was a dinner party guest where Steve was doing the cooking. All 3 courses, canapés and bread were absolutely fantastic. Restaurant quality food in your own home and one of the best meals I've ever eaten. I would highly recommend.

    thumb Rachael Pennington
    9/12/2016
  • positive review  I went to the comfort food pop up evening, I wasn't sure what to expect but the evening was just delightful. The food was incredible, melt in your mouth meat and plenty of it. I was sat at a table of 7, the food brought ise together, we all got on really well and got talking until very late. All the food is to share so you can have a little or a much as you want. Don't forget to bring your own drink and a very empty stomach if you want to make it through the evening. I definitely recommend this slightly quirky set up, it makes a refreshing change from the old pub meal and gives you a chance to meet some new like minded people who will all share a love for food.

    thumb Karine Leger
    2/25/2019

    5 star review  Had a wonderful meal prepared and cooked by Steve for my 40th birthday family get-together. Steve was easy to communicate with beforehand and was very helpful sorting out our menu. On the day itself he was friendly, efficient and very tidy. The food was delicious and well presented inspiring excellent comments from all guests. It made a perfect evening for us to relax and enjoy top quality food with good company. Thank you so much Steve 🙂

    thumb Helen Ellingham
    2/22/2017

    positive review  Excellent meal, loads of choice, too much food! We will definitely return. Don’t forget to take your own booze!

    thumb Maria Barnes
    7/12/2019
  • 5 star review  Steve and his wonderful team catered our wedding in May. Everything was absolutely perfect. The food was incredible. The flavours and presentation were gorgeous. Several of our guests required gluten and dairy free food so it was decided to make the trio of deserts all dairy and gluten free. They were absolutely delicious. Several guests asked for the recipes. I did not have to be bothered or involved in anything to do with the catering on the day. I was able to enjoy the reception along with all the guests. I definitely recommend Steve to everyone looking for a high standard of catering from an excellent chef who will make your event very special indeed. Thank you very much Steve for helping my husband and I to have a perfect wedding day.

    thumb Suzanne Raymont
    6/13/2018

    5 star review  

    thumb Kate Louise Rendall
    9/06/2016

    positive review  I attended Steve's Comfort food pop up restaurant this weekend and was highly impressed. Having experienced his cooking several times before I had immensely high expectations, which were met and then some. The environment was unique, social and welcoming, and the food was delicious! Rather than a normal restaurant Steve provides a whole evening and environment for his guests as well as a continued stream of delicious food. There is no limitations on the quantity of the food and you have the ability to choose as much of the selection of food available as you want. An incredible evening due to the company, the setting, the food and the service. Everybody left happy and full! A must do for anybody who loves exquisite food. Can not recommend enough!

    thumb Bobbie Caines
    2/25/2019
  • positive review  I had the delight of attending the dessert pop up evening. 7 courses of desserts = heaven! All of the desserts were fresh, beautifully cooked/baked and presented. Everything tasted incredible. I’m someone who has a limited palette and last night I was able to try things I never had before. I would never normally go out and sit with people I didn’t know, but I met some lovely people and the atmosphere was great. Steve himself is such a down to earth, friendly and happy person. Steve is massively skilled in his profession and creates such beautiful dishes. It was a pleasure to watch him work. I will be back for the next pop up 👌🏻

    thumb Carly-Rose Gray
    6/07/2019

    5 star review  We had steve cater for my mum's 50th birthday party Saturday afternoon. He came round a few hours before the party started and brought with him a whole variety of food. We gave him a few suggestions beforehand but most of it was his idea and everyone was impressed with what choices were there. He laid it all out with labels stating what each thing was and if it was suitable for vegetarians, he also prepared things like sandwiches at our house and everything else was also fresh. There were things there to meet everyones needs. The spread looked lovely and everyone complimented the food. There was also plenty there even though we're all big eaters and we had some left over! Definitely good for money! He also supplied paper plates and wooden cutlery so we didn't have to worry about a thing. Steve himself was really nice and friendly and professional. Would recommend to anyone and would use him again!

    thumb Emma Boyall
    11/06/2017

    5 star review  Thank you for great food at my 40th birthday- it was all a pleasure to eat

    thumb Carl Mintern
    6/17/2018
  • 5 star review  Steve's food is incredible! Absolutely stunning presentation from canapés through to dessert and amazing tasting food. The gin cured salmon was to die for and the tenderest beef that cut like butter, finished with a perfectly scrumptious and beautifully served chocolate parfait. He is amazing and a genius with flavours! I'd highly recommend him to anyone.

    thumb Imogen Grace
    8/01/2016

    5 star review  A superb meal for a special occasion! Many thanks Steve, your cooking was the highlight of our 20th anniversary weekend away at Surridge Farmhouse. We started with beetroot tarts and duck salads which were beautifully presented. Our main course was individual beef pies. These were great, full of tender meat and with lovely flaky pastry. Our customised petites fours were just delightful. Probably the best brownies I've ever had. The nougat was a real treat too. The cheeseboard was so much more than we'd hoped for, both in terms of content and quantity! The group included a couple of cheese aficionados but even they were impressed with the selection and thrilled to be introduced to some new varieties. Throughout the lead up Steve's customer service was great, everything was so smooth and easy. On the day he just turned up and got on with it while we hung out in the hot tub. He wrapped up all of our leftovers for the fridge and left the kitchen looking better than it did when he arrived! It was such a top night in. I really hope we get to return to the west country and have him cook for us again.

    thumb Natasha Howard
    10/10/2017

    5 star review  Had the most amazing evening hosted by Stephen, food was absolutely delicious. Blue Stilton briocche, Ox Cheek and Panocotta. Ox cheek is not something I would normally choose off the menu but this was cooked to perfection and full of flavour. I would definitely choose it again. Can't wait for the next time Stephen thank you so much.

    thumb Alison Black
    1/18/2017
  • 5 star review  Steve was absolutely fantastic throughout the whole time dealing with him. He was extremely responsive to messages initially to understand our requirements and was also very forthcoming with offering options for a bespoke menu. Based on this professionalism I was hopeful of a good meal, but I could not have expected just how fantastic it was. All eleven of our group were raving about the quality of the dishes and still are 3 weeks later. I thoroughly recommend Steve, his professionalism, service and food are exceptional.

    thumb Blaine Carey
    1/07/2017

    positive review  Fab U lous....would definately recomend

    thumb Penny Wood
    4/22/2019

    positive review  Steve has been and catered for my mother and father in law’s golden wedding. We are staying at Upton Grange near Weymouth and he was recommended by the owner of the cottages. He came and cooked an amazing meal just for them and it was wonderful. The food he cooked was in the words of my mother in law “simply the best food I’ve ever tasted, it was out of this world” The entire experience from the initial inquiry via email to the meal tonight has been faultless. I cannot recommend him enough. Thank you again for making the anniversary so special!

    thumb Alison Tierney
    8/17/2018
  • 5 star review  We are a party of six who had the absolute pleasure of Steve cooking for us on Saturday night - What an amazing experience! Steve had been so good with his communications in the run up to the event, all the usual stresses of arranging a dinner party had been completely removed. My preparation consisted of nothing more than putting a few bottles of bubbly in the fridge. Steve turned up and is so friendly he just felt like one of us. The food was amazing - cooked to perfection and plenty to go round. The night was a roaring success and I do not believe I can give it full justice in this review. To be able to enjoy high end, restaurant quality food served with a smile in the comfort of your own home really is a unique experience -being able to share a glass of wine or two afterwards with the chef that made it for you makes it even more special. Thank you Steve for such a memorable evening.

    thumb Katie Hopkins
    1/15/2018

    5 star review  Steve cooked for me and my work colleagues a 3 course dinner. Such a professional service, amazing food I have never tasted anything so good so many different flavours. I will without a doubt be using Steve again. Highly recommend him to everyone.

    thumb Kim Millard
    3/10/2018

    positive review  Well what can I say!! TOTALLY OVER INDULGED!!! What a fantastic evening amazing puddings that looked to good to eat! But so mouth watering you just had to! Thank Steve for a lovely evening . X

    thumb Andrea Blaney
    6/07/2019
  • positive review  We were able to Join Steve James Ltd for his Mezze evening earlier this week. WOW, what a fantastic evening. The food was absolutely wonderful, the outdoor setting on a lovely evening was a great touch. The conversation flowed well with the other people who had joined for the evening despite having never met them before. I would recommend Steve for his creativeness, his professionalism but most of all his ability to produce tasty cuisine. This may have been our first evening but it won’t be our last.

    thumb Steph Hewis
    7/13/2019

    5 star review  

    thumb Jose Cardona
    11/26/2016

    5 star review  Steve cooked my family the most fantastic meal when we were staying at a holiday house. We opted for Asian food and it was all wonderful and beautifully presented. Steve was very easy to communicate with and was clear about pricing and our options. He also catered to all the various allergies and dislikes of our party. I would recommend wholeheartedly.

    thumb Biba Brown
    2/22/2018
  • 5 star review  I would like to thank Steve for an amazing meal on Thursday evening celebrating my parents birthday at Stawley Wood Farm House. Everyone was blown away by the food and the warm friendly and professional service we received. I can't recommend him highly enough! Thank you once again.

    thumb Clare Trevillion
    6/03/2017

    5 star review  

    thumb Lloyd Brown
    1/11/2018

    5 star review  

    thumb Scarlett Woodruff
    12/07/2017
We cover the majority of Somerset and Dorset including: Weymouth, Sherborne, Shaftesbury, Bruton, Bridport, Dorchester, Glastonbury, Lyme Regis, Weston-Super-Mare and Yeovil. If you would like to know if we cover your area please get in touch and we would be happy to discuss this with you. Contact us
 If you some reviews of our work please send it to us so we can add it to this page or add it to our Facebook page
steve James personal chef reviews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *