Here is some of our review of what customers are saying about us! To see some pictures of the dishes cooked visit our gallery page. To see all the reviews on Facebook please visit our Facebook page here.

Reviews

  • 5 star review  I am not sure where to start with how amazing this evening catered by Steve was! I booked a private dining evening as a surprise for my boyfriend whilst we stayed in a holiday cottage near Crewkerne. The correspondence with Steve to organise it was seamless and he was extremely helpful and quick to reply - even giving me recommendations on the wines we should have with our dinner. He arrived promptly so we could eat at 7pm, bringing everything (and I mean everything!) with him. We had the game terrine to start, duck for main and caramel panna cotta to finish - all of which were absolutely incredible and we cannot fault at all. My other half and I have agreed that it is one of the best meals, if not THE best meal we have ever eaten - cooked by a very professional chef in front of us. He even cleared up at the end so the place was spotless! The whole evening was perfect and exactly what I wanted it to be. I hope to organise future dining experiences with Steve James!

    thumb Liv Vince
    1/11/2018

    positive review  Steve has been and catered for my mother and father in law’s golden wedding. We are staying at Upton Grange near Weymouth and he was recommended by the owner of the cottages. He came and cooked an amazing meal just for them and it was wonderful. The food he cooked was in the words of my mother in law “simply the best food I’ve ever tasted, it was out of this world” The entire experience from the initial inquiry via email to the meal tonight has been faultless. I cannot recommend him enough. Thank you again for making the anniversary so special!

    thumb Alison Tierney
    8/17/2018

    positive review  Wow. Seven courses of the most amazing desserts which are beautifully presented and tasted absolutely divine. I would recommend Steve’s pudding events. Thank you Steve will be back again !

    thumb Anne Marie Blake Sales
    6/14/2019
  • 5 star review  

    thumb Kate Louise Rendall
    9/06/2016

    5 star review  

    thumb Jose Cardona
    11/26/2016

    positive review  Had a fantastic evening at Steve's house last night. A group of 8 of us had arranged a mutually agreeable date with Steve to host our party. Food was plentiful, imaginative and beautifully cooked. Rob did a great job of serving us. Thanks guys for a great time. Highly recommend!

    thumb Della George
    7/20/2019
  • 5 star review  Steve and his wonderful team catered our wedding in May. Everything was absolutely perfect. The food was incredible. The flavours and presentation were gorgeous. Several of our guests required gluten and dairy free food so it was decided to make the trio of deserts all dairy and gluten free. They were absolutely delicious. Several guests asked for the recipes. I did not have to be bothered or involved in anything to do with the catering on the day. I was able to enjoy the reception along with all the guests. I definitely recommend Steve to everyone looking for a high standard of catering from an excellent chef who will make your event very special indeed. Thank you very much Steve for helping my husband and I to have a perfect wedding day.

    thumb Suzanne Raymont
    6/13/2018

    5 star review  

    thumb Lloyd Brown
    1/11/2018

    5 star review  A superb meal for a special occasion! Many thanks Steve, your cooking was the highlight of our 20th anniversary weekend away at Surridge Farmhouse. We started with beetroot tarts and duck salads which were beautifully presented. Our main course was individual beef pies. These were great, full of tender meat and with lovely flaky pastry. Our customised petites fours were just delightful. Probably the best brownies I've ever had. The nougat was a real treat too. The cheeseboard was so much more than we'd hoped for, both in terms of content and quantity! The group included a couple of cheese aficionados but even they were impressed with the selection and thrilled to be introduced to some new varieties. Throughout the lead up Steve's customer service was great, everything was so smooth and easy. On the day he just turned up and got on with it while we hung out in the hot tub. He wrapped up all of our leftovers for the fridge and left the kitchen looking better than it did when he arrived! It was such a top night in. I really hope we get to return to the west country and have him cook for us again.

    thumb Natasha Howard
    10/10/2017
  • 5 star review  Steve catered for a hen party we held on Saturday night. We had many different dietary requirements, and yet Steve worked it so that we all had the same canapés (they were incredible - full of flavour and visually stunning!), only 2 different choices for main and the same dessert. This went down so well with our guests who usually have to miss out on such meals. Steve was fantastic to deal with the whole way through, professional, efficient & wonderfully clean and tidy! And above all the food was on point. Rob who was serving on the night was great fun and really helped to make our evening special. I cannot recommend Steve & Rob enough, they made our night such a success - thank you!

    thumb Sophie Gay
    6/27/2017

    positive review  Well what can I say!! TOTALLY OVER INDULGED!!! What a fantastic evening amazing puddings that looked to good to eat! But so mouth watering you just had to! Thank Steve for a lovely evening . X

    thumb Andrea Blaney
    6/07/2019

    positive review  Awesome evening with fantastic canapés & butlers 🍑 relaxed fun & friendly highly recommended

    thumb Rebecca Essex-Crosby
    3/29/2019
  • positive review  We were able to Join Steve James Ltd for his Mezze evening earlier this week. WOW, what a fantastic evening. The food was absolutely wonderful, the outdoor setting on a lovely evening was a great touch. The conversation flowed well with the other people who had joined for the evening despite having never met them before. I would recommend Steve for his creativeness, his professionalism but most of all his ability to produce tasty cuisine. This may have been our first evening but it won’t be our last.

    thumb Steph Hewis
    7/13/2019

    5 star review  Steve cooked my family the most fantastic meal when we were staying at a holiday house. We opted for Asian food and it was all wonderful and beautifully presented. Steve was very easy to communicate with and was clear about pricing and our options. He also catered to all the various allergies and dislikes of our party. I would recommend wholeheartedly.

    thumb Biba Brown
    2/22/2018

    5 star review  Had a wonderful meal prepared and cooked by Steve for my 40th birthday family get-together. Steve was easy to communicate with beforehand and was very helpful sorting out our menu. On the day itself he was friendly, efficient and very tidy. The food was delicious and well presented inspiring excellent comments from all guests. It made a perfect evening for us to relax and enjoy top quality food with good company. Thank you so much Steve 🙂

    thumb Helen Ellingham
    2/22/2017
  • positive review  Steve created a bespoke menu, based around my Dad’s favourite foods for his 70th birthday. The food was delicious, beautifully presented and fantastic value for money. Plus my kitchen was left spotless! We had a great evening- thank you Steve, we’ll be booking in again soon.

    thumb Alyce Rockliff
    6/09/2019

    5 star review  Steve cooked for me and my work colleagues a 3 course dinner. Such a professional service, amazing food I have never tasted anything so good so many different flavours. I will without a doubt be using Steve again. Highly recommend him to everyone.

    thumb Kim Millard
    3/10/2018

    positive review  Steve cooked for the Love for Somerset team at his B&B in Tintinhull. We were thoroughly spoilt with 5 sumptuous courses and were able to focus on catching up as a team which is so important. Rob served perfectly! The food was superb, with each course bringing a ‘wow’ or ‘that looks amazing’ or general yummy noises! We recommend Steve James for all personal dining briefs. A party for family next I think! See our blog post for more loveforsomerset.co.uk and click on Blog x

    thumb Lizzie Roles
    10/24/2018
  • 5 star review  I was a dinner party guest where Steve was doing the cooking. All 3 courses, canapés and bread were absolutely fantastic. Restaurant quality food in your own home and one of the best meals I've ever eaten. I would highly recommend.

    thumb Rachael Pennington
    9/12/2016

    5 star review  Had the most amazing evening hosted by Stephen, food was absolutely delicious. Blue Stilton briocche, Ox Cheek and Panocotta. Ox cheek is not something I would normally choose off the menu but this was cooked to perfection and full of flavour. I would definitely choose it again. Can't wait for the next time Stephen thank you so much.

    thumb Alison Black
    1/18/2017

    5 star review  

    thumb Scarlett Woodruff
    12/07/2017
  • 5 star review  Steve and Rob catered for my husband's 50th party last night. They cooked for 40 guests, including 13 children. The food was amazing and the service faultless. In fact, they went well beyond what we expected. Lovely guys and very capable. Highly recommended.

    thumb Emma Harvey
    12/04/2016

    5 star review  Steve James has so much passion for cooking which shows in his amazing food!

    thumb Hilary Robyn Tawse
    10/08/2016

    positive review  Excellent meal, loads of choice, too much food! We will definitely return. Don’t forget to take your own booze!

    thumb Maria Barnes
    7/12/2019
  • 5 star review  Steve was absolutely fantastic throughout the whole time dealing with him. He was extremely responsive to messages initially to understand our requirements and was also very forthcoming with offering options for a bespoke menu. Based on this professionalism I was hopeful of a good meal, but I could not have expected just how fantastic it was. All eleven of our group were raving about the quality of the dishes and still are 3 weeks later. I thoroughly recommend Steve, his professionalism, service and food are exceptional.

    thumb Blaine Carey
    1/07/2017

    5 star review  We are a party of six who had the absolute pleasure of Steve cooking for us on Saturday night - What an amazing experience! Steve had been so good with his communications in the run up to the event, all the usual stresses of arranging a dinner party had been completely removed. My preparation consisted of nothing more than putting a few bottles of bubbly in the fridge. Steve turned up and is so friendly he just felt like one of us. The food was amazing - cooked to perfection and plenty to go round. The night was a roaring success and I do not believe I can give it full justice in this review. To be able to enjoy high end, restaurant quality food served with a smile in the comfort of your own home really is a unique experience -being able to share a glass of wine or two afterwards with the chef that made it for you makes it even more special. Thank you Steve for such a memorable evening.

    thumb Katie Hopkins
    1/15/2018

    5 star review  Steve's food is incredible! Absolutely stunning presentation from canapés through to dessert and amazing tasting food. The gin cured salmon was to die for and the tenderest beef that cut like butter, finished with a perfectly scrumptious and beautifully served chocolate parfait. He is amazing and a genius with flavours! I'd highly recommend him to anyone.

    thumb Imogen Grace
    8/01/2016
  • positive review  Honestly amazing food! Best meal of my life so far, can’t wait to go again! X

    thumb Selina-jane Honeybunn
    5/31/2019

    positive review  I went to the comfort food pop up evening, I wasn't sure what to expect but the evening was just delightful. The food was incredible, melt in your mouth meat and plenty of it. I was sat at a table of 7, the food brought ise together, we all got on really well and got talking until very late. All the food is to share so you can have a little or a much as you want. Don't forget to bring your own drink and a very empty stomach if you want to make it through the evening. I definitely recommend this slightly quirky set up, it makes a refreshing change from the old pub meal and gives you a chance to meet some new like minded people who will all share a love for food.

    thumb Karine Leger
    2/25/2019

    5 star review  Utterly delicious ! The meal was utterly delicious !!! The courses kept coming...with immaculate presentation and so many different flavours and tastes which complemented one another... I was in heaven, probably was not much company as I was lost in all of its 'deliciousness' .... You would be exceptionally fortunate to be able to experience Steve James's modern dining experience...

    thumb Andrea Mary Moran
    8/10/2017
We cover the majority of Somerset and Dorset including: Weymouth, Sherborne, Shaftesbury, Bruton, Bridport, Dorchester, Glastonbury, Lyme Regis, Weston-Super-Mare and Yeovil. If you would like to know if we cover your area please get in touch and we would be happy to discuss this with you. Contact us
 If you some reviews of our work please send it to us so we can add it to this page or add it to our Facebook page
steve James personal chef reviews

Photo by Richard Budd

Steve James caterer and Personal chef service that covers Somerset and Dorset including Weymouth, Sherborne, Bruton, Bridport, Dorchester,  Lyme Regis, Weston and Yeovil