Here is some of our review of what customers are saying about us! To see some pictures of the dishes cooked visit our gallery page. To see all the reviews on Facebook please visit our Facebook page here.

Reviews

  • positive review  Fab U lous....would definately recomend

    thumb Penny Wood
    4/22/2019

    positive review  Had a fantastic evening at Steve's house last night. A group of 8 of us had arranged a mutually agreeable date with Steve to host our party. Food was plentiful, imaginative and beautifully cooked. Rob did a great job of serving us. Thanks guys for a great time. Highly recommend!

    thumb Della George
    7/20/2019

    5 star review  Steve James has so much passion for cooking which shows in his amazing food!

    thumb Hilary Robyn Tawse
    10/08/2016
  • 5 star review  Steve's food is incredible! Absolutely stunning presentation from canapés through to dessert and amazing tasting food. The gin cured salmon was to die for and the tenderest beef that cut like butter, finished with a perfectly scrumptious and beautifully served chocolate parfait. He is amazing and a genius with flavours! I'd highly recommend him to anyone.

    thumb Imogen Grace
    8/01/2016

    5 star review  Steve cooked my family the most fantastic meal when we were staying at a holiday house. We opted for Asian food and it was all wonderful and beautifully presented. Steve was very easy to communicate with and was clear about pricing and our options. He also catered to all the various allergies and dislikes of our party. I would recommend wholeheartedly.

    thumb Biba Brown
    2/22/2018

    5 star review  

    thumb Scarlett Woodruff
    12/07/2017
  • 5 star review  We are a party of six who had the absolute pleasure of Steve cooking for us on Saturday night - What an amazing experience! Steve had been so good with his communications in the run up to the event, all the usual stresses of arranging a dinner party had been completely removed. My preparation consisted of nothing more than putting a few bottles of bubbly in the fridge. Steve turned up and is so friendly he just felt like one of us. The food was amazing - cooked to perfection and plenty to go round. The night was a roaring success and I do not believe I can give it full justice in this review. To be able to enjoy high end, restaurant quality food served with a smile in the comfort of your own home really is a unique experience -being able to share a glass of wine or two afterwards with the chef that made it for you makes it even more special. Thank you Steve for such a memorable evening.

    thumb Katie Hopkins
    1/15/2018

    5 star review  

    thumb Jose Cardona
    11/26/2016

    5 star review  We had steve cater for my mum's 50th birthday party Saturday afternoon. He came round a few hours before the party started and brought with him a whole variety of food. We gave him a few suggestions beforehand but most of it was his idea and everyone was impressed with what choices were there. He laid it all out with labels stating what each thing was and if it was suitable for vegetarians, he also prepared things like sandwiches at our house and everything else was also fresh. There were things there to meet everyones needs. The spread looked lovely and everyone complimented the food. There was also plenty there even though we're all big eaters and we had some left over! Definitely good for money! He also supplied paper plates and wooden cutlery so we didn't have to worry about a thing. Steve himself was really nice and friendly and professional. Would recommend to anyone and would use him again!

    thumb Emma Boyall
    11/06/2017
  • positive review  Steve has been and catered for my mother and father in law’s golden wedding. We are staying at Upton Grange near Weymouth and he was recommended by the owner of the cottages. He came and cooked an amazing meal just for them and it was wonderful. The food he cooked was in the words of my mother in law “simply the best food I’ve ever tasted, it was out of this world” The entire experience from the initial inquiry via email to the meal tonight has been faultless. I cannot recommend him enough. Thank you again for making the anniversary so special!

    thumb Alison Tierney
    8/17/2018

    5 star review  Steve and Rob catered for my husband's 50th party last night. They cooked for 40 guests, including 13 children. The food was amazing and the service faultless. In fact, they went well beyond what we expected. Lovely guys and very capable. Highly recommended.

    thumb Emma Harvey
    12/04/2016

    5 star review  Utterly delicious ! The meal was utterly delicious !!! The courses kept coming...with immaculate presentation and so many different flavours and tastes which complemented one another... I was in heaven, probably was not much company as I was lost in all of its 'deliciousness' .... You would be exceptionally fortunate to be able to experience Steve James's modern dining experience...

    thumb Andrea Mary Moran
    8/10/2017
  • positive review  Fabulous evening with amazing food. Will definitely be back!

    thumb Sherry Lees
    3/30/2019

    5 star review  Steve was absolutely fantastic throughout the whole time dealing with him. He was extremely responsive to messages initially to understand our requirements and was also very forthcoming with offering options for a bespoke menu. Based on this professionalism I was hopeful of a good meal, but I could not have expected just how fantastic it was. All eleven of our group were raving about the quality of the dishes and still are 3 weeks later. I thoroughly recommend Steve, his professionalism, service and food are exceptional.

    thumb Blaine Carey
    1/07/2017

    5 star review  

    thumb Lloyd Brown
    1/11/2018
  • 5 star review  A superb meal for a special occasion! Many thanks Steve, your cooking was the highlight of our 20th anniversary weekend away at Surridge Farmhouse. We started with beetroot tarts and duck salads which were beautifully presented. Our main course was individual beef pies. These were great, full of tender meat and with lovely flaky pastry. Our customised petites fours were just delightful. Probably the best brownies I've ever had. The nougat was a real treat too. The cheeseboard was so much more than we'd hoped for, both in terms of content and quantity! The group included a couple of cheese aficionados but even they were impressed with the selection and thrilled to be introduced to some new varieties. Throughout the lead up Steve's customer service was great, everything was so smooth and easy. On the day he just turned up and got on with it while we hung out in the hot tub. He wrapped up all of our leftovers for the fridge and left the kitchen looking better than it did when he arrived! It was such a top night in. I really hope we get to return to the west country and have him cook for us again.

    thumb Natasha Howard
    10/10/2017

    positive review  Myself, husband and six friends had the most amazing food prepared and cooked by Steve. James. We requested Fusion style food and Wow were we blown away. Fabulous canapés were served with chilled fizz. Crispy lotus root topped with crispy ginger and quails egg. Melt in the mouth marinated chicken thigh with dipping sauce. My taste buds were buzzing! Then a delicious starter included Thai noodle salad, slow cooked belly pork which just melted in the mouth. Prawn and pork wraps all with delicious dressings, drizzles and dips. Gorgeous main courses of fusion style, slow braised aromatic beef cheek, sticky rice, pickled cucumber and radish salad and Katzu chicken with spicy gravy. Superb choice of puddings too. Vanilla Panna cotta with Yuzu jelly, black sesame ice cream and a matcha tea tulle. Followed by a heavenly tart of crisp, sweet pastry filled with cream, lychees and topped with rose flavoured meringues, raspberries, raspberry sauce and white chocolate. Mmmmmm was the sound around the table all evening. It was a true feast of flavours.

    thumb Jacks McDonnell
    11/11/2018

    5 star review  

    thumb Kate Louise Rendall
    9/06/2016
  • 5 star review  

    thumb Hattie Elizabeth
    3/27/2017

    positive review  Honestly amazing food! Best meal of my life so far, can’t wait to go again! X

    thumb Selina-jane Honeybunn
    5/31/2019

    5 star review  Steve and his wonderful team catered our wedding in May. Everything was absolutely perfect. The food was incredible. The flavours and presentation were gorgeous. Several of our guests required gluten and dairy free food so it was decided to make the trio of deserts all dairy and gluten free. They were absolutely delicious. Several guests asked for the recipes. I did not have to be bothered or involved in anything to do with the catering on the day. I was able to enjoy the reception along with all the guests. I definitely recommend Steve to everyone looking for a high standard of catering from an excellent chef who will make your event very special indeed. Thank you very much Steve for helping my husband and I to have a perfect wedding day.

    thumb Suzanne Raymont
    6/13/2018
  • positive review  Excellent meal, loads of choice, too much food! We will definitely return. Don’t forget to take your own booze!

    thumb Maria Barnes
    7/12/2019

    5 star review  Thank you for great food at my 40th birthday- it was all a pleasure to eat

    thumb Carl Mintern
    6/17/2018

    positive review  I booked Steve a year in advance as I wanted something special for my 40th Birthday (December 2018), about 2 months before I met with Steve and we discussed ideas and Steve prepared a lovely menu of 5 course for my 14 guests. Steve arrived on the party evening and everything was stress free, the food was fabulous, and the evening ran like clock work and my friends haven’t stopped talking about how excellent the food was. Thank you Steve for helping making my party fabulous.

    thumb Sonia Raymond
    1/08/2019
  • positive review  I went to the comfort food pop up evening, I wasn't sure what to expect but the evening was just delightful. The food was incredible, melt in your mouth meat and plenty of it. I was sat at a table of 7, the food brought ise together, we all got on really well and got talking until very late. All the food is to share so you can have a little or a much as you want. Don't forget to bring your own drink and a very empty stomach if you want to make it through the evening. I definitely recommend this slightly quirky set up, it makes a refreshing change from the old pub meal and gives you a chance to meet some new like minded people who will all share a love for food.

    thumb Karine Leger
    2/25/2019

    positive review  Steve cooked for the Love for Somerset team at his B&B in Tintinhull. We were thoroughly spoilt with 5 sumptuous courses and were able to focus on catching up as a team which is so important. Rob served perfectly! The food was superb, with each course bringing a ‘wow’ or ‘that looks amazing’ or general yummy noises! We recommend Steve James for all personal dining briefs. A party for family next I think! See our blog post for more loveforsomerset.co.uk and click on Blog x

    thumb Lizzie Roles
    10/24/2018

    positive review  I attended Steve's Comfort food pop up restaurant this weekend and was highly impressed. Having experienced his cooking several times before I had immensely high expectations, which were met and then some. The environment was unique, social and welcoming, and the food was delicious! Rather than a normal restaurant Steve provides a whole evening and environment for his guests as well as a continued stream of delicious food. There is no limitations on the quantity of the food and you have the ability to choose as much of the selection of food available as you want. An incredible evening due to the company, the setting, the food and the service. Everybody left happy and full! A must do for anybody who loves exquisite food. Can not recommend enough!

    thumb Bobbie Caines
    2/25/2019
  • positive review  Well what can I say!! TOTALLY OVER INDULGED!!! What a fantastic evening amazing puddings that looked to good to eat! But so mouth watering you just had to! Thank Steve for a lovely evening . X

    thumb Andrea Blaney
    6/07/2019

    5 star review  Steve catered my parent’s 40th wedding anniversary. We enjoyed a delicious 5 course meal, tailored towards our tastes and food intolerances- perfectly executed by Steve. Correspondence and organisation was simple, dinner was cooked seamlessly around our evening timetable and the kitchen was spotless afterwards. Thanks Steve

    thumb Harriet Portia Davies
    6/05/2018

    5 star review  I would like to thank Steve for an amazing meal on Thursday evening celebrating my parents birthday at Stawley Wood Farm House. Everyone was blown away by the food and the warm friendly and professional service we received. I can't recommend him highly enough! Thank you once again.

    thumb Clare Trevillion
    6/03/2017
We cover the majority of Somerset and Dorset including: Weymouth, Sherborne, Shaftesbury, Bruton, Bridport, Dorchester, Glastonbury, Lyme Regis, Weston-Super-Mare and Yeovil. If you would like to know if we cover your area please get in touch and we would be happy to discuss this with you. Contact us
 If you some reviews of our work please send it to us so we can add it to this page or add it to our Facebook page
steve James personal chef reviews

Photo by Richard Budd

Steve James caterer and Personal chef service that covers Somerset and Dorset including Weymouth, Sherborne, Bruton, Bridport, Dorchester,  Lyme Regis, Weston and Yeovil