Reviews

Here is some of our review of what customers are saying about us! To see some pictures of the dishes cooked visit our gallery page. To see all the reviews on Facebook please visit our Facebook page here.

Reviews

  • 5 star review  Thank you for great food at my 40th birthday- it was all a pleasure to eat

    Carl Mintern Avatar Carl Mintern
    17/06/2018

    5 star review  

    Hattie Elizabeth Avatar Hattie Elizabeth
    27/03/2017

    5 star review  Utterly delicious ! The meal was utterly delicious !!! The courses kept coming...with immaculate presentation and so many different flavours and tastes which complemented one another... I was in heaven, probably was not much company as I was lost in all of its 'deliciousness' .... You would be exceptionally fortunate to be able to experience Steve James's modern dining experience...

    Andrea Mary Moran Avatar Andrea Mary Moran
    10/08/2017
  • 5 star review  

    Kate Louise Rendall Avatar Kate Louise Rendall
    06/09/2016

    positive review  I had the delight of attending the dessert pop up evening. 7 courses of desserts = heaven! All of the desserts were fresh, beautifully cooked/baked and presented. Everything tasted incredible. I’m someone who has a limited palette and last night I was able to try things I never had before. I would never normally go out and sit with people I didn’t know, but I met some lovely people and the atmosphere was great. Steve himself is such a down to earth, friendly and happy person. Steve is massively skilled in his profession and creates such beautiful dishes. It was a pleasure to watch him work. I will be back for the next pop up 👌🏻

    Carly-Rose Gray Avatar Carly-Rose Gray
    07/06/2019

    5 star review  Steve James has so much passion for cooking which shows in his amazing food!

    Hilary Robyn Tawse Avatar Hilary Robyn Tawse
    08/10/2016
  • 5 star review  Steve catered my parent’s 40th wedding anniversary. We enjoyed a delicious 5 course meal, tailored towards our tastes and food intolerances- perfectly executed by Steve. Correspondence and organisation was simple, dinner was cooked seamlessly around our evening timetable and the kitchen was spotless afterwards. Thanks Steve

    Harriet Portia Davies Avatar Harriet Portia Davies
    05/06/2018

    5 star review  I would like to thank Steve for an amazing meal on Thursday evening celebrating my parents birthday at Stawley Wood Farm House. Everyone was blown away by the food and the warm friendly and professional service we received. I can't recommend him highly enough! Thank you once again.

    Clare Trevillion Avatar Clare Trevillion
    03/06/2017

    5 star review  Steve came to our house at the weekend to cook a three course meal for myself, my husband and 2 friends and I can hand on heart say it was one of the best meals I have EVER had. It was fine dining quality without the hassle of having to get ready to go out and even more of a luxury no one having to drive especially with the gorgeous cocktails that were produced to go alongside each course. The food was all excellent and beautifully presented but with my sweet tooth I can't recommend the pannacotta that we had enough... I would order that time and time again, it was stunning. The one thing we were both nervous about was having somebody else cook in our kitchen and then the clearing up afterwards but Steve respected the kitchen and left it just as he found it... A night off washing up in our home, a rare luxury! If you want a night in with the same quality food as you would expect from a top quality restaurant we would definitely recommend that you book Steve, you won't regret it. We look forward to booking you again soon, thank you so much.

    Abigail Warne Avatar Abigail Warne
    17/08/2016
  • 5 star review  Steve catered for a hen party we held on Saturday night. We had many different dietary requirements, and yet Steve worked it so that we all had the same canapés (they were incredible - full of flavour and visually stunning!), only 2 different choices for main and the same dessert. This went down so well with our guests who usually have to miss out on such meals. Steve was fantastic to deal with the whole way through, professional, efficient & wonderfully clean and tidy! And above all the food was on point. Rob who was serving on the night was great fun and really helped to make our evening special. I cannot recommend Steve & Rob enough, they made our night such a success - thank you!

    Sophie Gay Avatar Sophie Gay
    27/06/2017

    positive review  I booked Steve a year in advance as I wanted something special for my 40th Birthday (December 2018), about 2 months before I met with Steve and we discussed ideas and Steve prepared a lovely menu of 5 course for my 14 guests. Steve arrived on the party evening and everything was stress free, the food was fabulous, and the evening ran like clock work and my friends haven’t stopped talking about how excellent the food was. Thank you Steve for helping making my party fabulous.

    Sonia Raymond Avatar Sonia Raymond
    08/01/2019

    5 star review  A superb meal for a special occasion! Many thanks Steve, your cooking was the highlight of our 20th anniversary weekend away at Surridge Farmhouse. We started with beetroot tarts and duck salads which were beautifully presented. Our main course was individual beef pies. These were great, full of tender meat and with lovely flaky pastry. Our customised petites fours were just delightful. Probably the best brownies I've ever had. The nougat was a real treat too. The cheeseboard was so much more than we'd hoped for, both in terms of content and quantity! The group included a couple of cheese aficionados but even they were impressed with the selection and thrilled to be introduced to some new varieties. Throughout the lead up Steve's customer service was great, everything was so smooth and easy. On the day he just turned up and got on with it while we hung out in the hot tub. He wrapped up all of our leftovers for the fridge and left the kitchen looking better than it did when he arrived! It was such a top night in. I really hope we get to return to the west country and have him cook for us again.

    Natasha Howard Avatar Natasha Howard
    10/10/2017
  • 5 star review  

    Scarlett Woodruff Avatar Scarlett Woodruff
    07/12/2017

    positive review  Awesome evening with fantastic canapés & butlers 🍑 relaxed fun & friendly highly recommended

    Rebecca Essex-Crosby Avatar Rebecca Essex-Crosby
    29/03/2019

    positive review  Myself, husband and six friends had the most amazing food prepared and cooked by Steve. James. We requested Fusion style food and Wow were we blown away. Fabulous canapés were served with chilled fizz. Crispy lotus root topped with crispy ginger and quails egg. Melt in the mouth marinated chicken thigh with dipping sauce. My taste buds were buzzing! Then a delicious starter included Thai noodle salad, slow cooked belly pork which just melted in the mouth. Prawn and pork wraps all with delicious dressings, drizzles and dips. Gorgeous main courses of fusion style, slow braised aromatic beef cheek, sticky rice, pickled cucumber and radish salad and Katzu chicken with spicy gravy. Superb choice of puddings too. Vanilla Panna cotta with Yuzu jelly, black sesame ice cream and a matcha tea tulle. Followed by a heavenly tart of crisp, sweet pastry filled with cream, lychees and topped with rose flavoured meringues, raspberries, raspberry sauce and white chocolate. Mmmmmm was the sound around the table all evening. It was a true feast of flavours.

    Jacks McDonnell Avatar Jacks McDonnell
    11/11/2018
  • positive review  I attended Steve's Comfort food pop up restaurant this weekend and was highly impressed. Having experienced his cooking several times before I had immensely high expectations, which were met and then some. The environment was unique, social and welcoming, and the food was delicious! Rather than a normal restaurant Steve provides a whole evening and environment for his guests as well as a continued stream of delicious food. There is no limitations on the quantity of the food and you have the ability to choose as much of the selection of food available as you want. An incredible evening due to the company, the setting, the food and the service. Everybody left happy and full! A must do for anybody who loves exquisite food. Can not recommend enough!

    Bobbie Caines Avatar Bobbie Caines
    25/02/2019

    positive review  Honestly amazing food! Best meal of my life so far, can’t wait to go again! X

    Selina-jane Honeybunn Avatar Selina-jane Honeybunn
    31/05/2019

    5 star review  Steve and his wonderful team catered our wedding in May. Everything was absolutely perfect. The food was incredible. The flavours and presentation were gorgeous. Several of our guests required gluten and dairy free food so it was decided to make the trio of deserts all dairy and gluten free. They were absolutely delicious. Several guests asked for the recipes. I did not have to be bothered or involved in anything to do with the catering on the day. I was able to enjoy the reception along with all the guests. I definitely recommend Steve to everyone looking for a high standard of catering from an excellent chef who will make your event very special indeed. Thank you very much Steve for helping my husband and I to have a perfect wedding day.

    Suzanne Raymont Avatar Suzanne Raymont
    13/06/2018
  • 5 star review  Steve cooked for me and my work colleagues a 3 course dinner. Such a professional service, amazing food I have never tasted anything so good so many different flavours. I will without a doubt be using Steve again. Highly recommend him to everyone.

    Kim Millard Avatar Kim Millard
    10/03/2018

    5 star review  Steve was absolutely fantastic throughout the whole time dealing with him. He was extremely responsive to messages initially to understand our requirements and was also very forthcoming with offering options for a bespoke menu. Based on this professionalism I was hopeful of a good meal, but I could not have expected just how fantastic it was. All eleven of our group were raving about the quality of the dishes and still are 3 weeks later. I thoroughly recommend Steve, his professionalism, service and food are exceptional.

    Blaine Carey Avatar Blaine Carey
    07/01/2017

    5 star review  Had the most amazing evening hosted by Stephen, food was absolutely delicious. Blue Stilton briocche, Ox Cheek and Panocotta. Ox cheek is not something I would normally choose off the menu but this was cooked to perfection and full of flavour. I would definitely choose it again. Can't wait for the next time Stephen thank you so much.

    Alison Black Avatar Alison Black
    18/01/2017
  • positive review  We were able to Join Steve James Ltd for his Mezze evening earlier this week. WOW, what a fantastic evening. The food was absolutely wonderful, the outdoor setting on a lovely evening was a great touch. The conversation flowed well with the other people who had joined for the evening despite having never met them before. I would recommend Steve for his creativeness, his professionalism but most of all his ability to produce tasty cuisine. This may have been our first evening but it won’t be our last.

    Steph Hewis Avatar Steph Hewis
    13/07/2019

    positive review  Steve has been and catered for my mother and father in law’s golden wedding. We are staying at Upton Grange near Weymouth and he was recommended by the owner of the cottages. He came and cooked an amazing meal just for them and it was wonderful. The food he cooked was in the words of my mother in law “simply the best food I’ve ever tasted, it was out of this world” The entire experience from the initial inquiry via email to the meal tonight has been faultless. I cannot recommend him enough. Thank you again for making the anniversary so special!

    Alison Tierney Avatar Alison Tierney
    17/08/2018

    positive review  Steve created a bespoke menu, based around my Dad’s favourite foods for his 70th birthday. The food was delicious, beautifully presented and fantastic value for money. Plus my kitchen was left spotless! We had a great evening- thank you Steve, we’ll be booking in again soon.

    Alyce Rockliff Avatar Alyce Rockliff
    09/06/2019
  • 5 star review  

    Lloyd Brown Avatar Lloyd Brown
    11/01/2018

    positive review  Wow. Seven courses of the most amazing desserts which are beautifully presented and tasted absolutely divine. I would recommend Steve’s pudding events. Thank you Steve will be back again !

    Anne Marie Blake Sales Avatar Anne Marie Blake Sales
    14/06/2019

    5 star review  I am not sure where to start with how amazing this evening catered by Steve was! I booked a private dining evening as a surprise for my boyfriend whilst we stayed in a holiday cottage near Crewkerne. The correspondence with Steve to organise it was seamless and he was extremely helpful and quick to reply - even giving me recommendations on the wines we should have with our dinner. He arrived promptly so we could eat at 7pm, bringing everything (and I mean everything!) with him. We had the game terrine to start, duck for main and caramel panna cotta to finish - all of which were absolutely incredible and we cannot fault at all. My other half and I have agreed that it is one of the best meals, if not THE best meal we have ever eaten - cooked by a very professional chef in front of us. He even cleared up at the end so the place was spotless! The whole evening was perfect and exactly what I wanted it to be. I hope to organise future dining experiences with Steve James!

    Liv Vince Avatar Liv Vince
    11/01/2018
  • 5 star review  I was a dinner party guest where Steve was doing the cooking. All 3 courses, canapés and bread were absolutely fantastic. Restaurant quality food in your own home and one of the best meals I've ever eaten. I would highly recommend.

    Rachael Pennington Avatar Rachael Pennington
    12/09/2016

    5 star review  Had a wonderful meal prepared and cooked by Steve for my 40th birthday family get-together. Steve was easy to communicate with beforehand and was very helpful sorting out our menu. On the day itself he was friendly, efficient and very tidy. The food was delicious and well presented inspiring excellent comments from all guests. It made a perfect evening for us to relax and enjoy top quality food with good company. Thank you so much Steve 🙂

    Helen Ellingham Avatar Helen Ellingham
    22/02/2017

    positive review  Well what can I say!! TOTALLY OVER INDULGED!!! What a fantastic evening amazing puddings that looked to good to eat! But so mouth watering you just had to! Thank Steve for a lovely evening . X

    Andrea Blaney Avatar Andrea Blaney
    07/06/2019
We cover the majority of Somerset and Dorset including: Weymouth, Sherborne, Shaftesbury, Bruton, Bridport, Dorchester, Glastonbury, Lyme Regis, Weston-Super-Mare and Yeovil. If you would like to know if we cover your area please get in touch and we would be happy to discuss this with you. Contact us
 If you some reviews of our work please send it to us so we can add it to this page or add it to our Facebook page
steve James personal chef reviews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *