Reviews

Here is some of our review of what customers are saying about us! To see some pictures of the dishes cooked visit our gallery page. To see all the reviews on Facebook please visit our Facebook page here.

Reviews

  • 5 star review  Thank you Stephen James for hosting a very special Dinner party in our home. Roxane Seamans and guests were spoilt with your amazing menu and cocktails...!!! Congratulations on your brilliant food critique review by 'Crumbs' food magazine. If your ever looking to host your own dinner party and not have to worry what's on the menu, then contact Stephen James. The guy is a Food Magician. ����

    Paul Seamans Avatar Paul Seamans
    03/10/2016

    5 star review  Steve came to our house at the weekend to cook a three course meal for myself, my husband and 2 friends and I can hand on heart say it was one of the best meals I have EVER had. It was fine dining quality without the hassle of having to get ready to go out and even more of a luxury no one having to drive especially with the gorgeous cocktails that were produced to go alongside each course. The food was all excellent and beautifully presented but with my sweet tooth I can't recommend the pannacotta that we had enough... I would order that time and time again, it was stunning. The one thing we were both nervous about was having somebody else cook in our kitchen and then the clearing up afterwards but Steve respected the kitchen and left it just as he found it... A night off washing up in our home, a rare luxury! If you want a night in with the same quality food as you would expect from a top quality restaurant we would definitely recommend that you book Steve, you won't regret it. We look forward to booking you again soon, thank you so much.

    Abigail Warne Avatar Abigail Warne
    17/08/2016

    5 star review  I was a dinner party guest where Steve was doing the cooking. All 3 courses, canapés and bread were absolutely fantastic. Restaurant quality food in your own home and one of the best meals I've ever eaten. I would highly recommend.

    Rachael Pennington Avatar Rachael Pennington
    12/09/2016
  • positive review  Well what can I say!! TOTALLY OVER INDULGED!!! What a fantastic evening amazing puddings that looked to good to eat! But so mouth watering you just had to! Thank Steve for a lovely evening . X

    Andrea Blaney Avatar Andrea Blaney
    07/06/2019

    5 star review  Steve and Rob catered for my husband's 50th party last night. They cooked for 40 guests, including 13 children. The food was amazing and the service faultless. In fact, they went well beyond what we expected. Lovely guys and very capable. Highly recommended.

    Emma Harvey Avatar Emma Harvey
    04/12/2016

    5 star review  

    Hattie Elizabeth Avatar Hattie Elizabeth
    27/03/2017
  • positive review  Wow. Seven courses of the most amazing desserts which are beautifully presented and tasted absolutely divine. I would recommend Steve’s pudding events. Thank you Steve will be back again !

    Anne Marie Blake Sales Avatar Anne Marie Blake Sales
    14/06/2019

    positive review  Excellent meal, loads of choice, too much food! We will definitely return. Don’t forget to take your own booze!

    Maria Barnes Avatar Maria Barnes
    12/07/2019

    positive review  I had the delight of attending the dessert pop up evening. 7 courses of desserts = heaven! All of the desserts were fresh, beautifully cooked/baked and presented. Everything tasted incredible. I’m someone who has a limited palette and last night I was able to try things I never had before. I would never normally go out and sit with people I didn’t know, but I met some lovely people and the atmosphere was great. Steve himself is such a down to earth, friendly and happy person. Steve is massively skilled in his profession and creates such beautiful dishes. It was a pleasure to watch him work. I will be back for the next pop up 👌🏻

    Carly-Rose Gray Avatar Carly-Rose Gray
    07/06/2019
  • 5 star review  

    Kate Louise Rendall Avatar Kate Louise Rendall
    06/09/2016

    positive review  We were able to Join Steve James Ltd for his Mezze evening earlier this week. WOW, what a fantastic evening. The food was absolutely wonderful, the outdoor setting on a lovely evening was a great touch. The conversation flowed well with the other people who had joined for the evening despite having never met them before. I would recommend Steve for his creativeness, his professionalism but most of all his ability to produce tasty cuisine. This may have been our first evening but it won’t be our last.

    Steph Hewis Avatar Steph Hewis
    13/07/2019

    5 star review  

    Lloyd Brown Avatar Lloyd Brown
    11/01/2018
  • positive review  Steve created a bespoke menu, based around my Dad’s favourite foods for his 70th birthday. The food was delicious, beautifully presented and fantastic value for money. Plus my kitchen was left spotless! We had a great evening- thank you Steve, we’ll be booking in again soon.

    Alyce Rockliff Avatar Alyce Rockliff
    09/06/2019

    positive review  Had a fantastic evening at Steve's house last night. A group of 8 of us had arranged a mutually agreeable date with Steve to host our party. Food was plentiful, imaginative and beautifully cooked. Rob did a great job of serving us. Thanks guys for a great time. Highly recommend!

    Della George Avatar Della George
    20/07/2019

    5 star review  Steve cooked for me and my work colleagues a 3 course dinner. Such a professional service, amazing food I have never tasted anything so good so many different flavours. I will without a doubt be using Steve again. Highly recommend him to everyone.

    Kim Millard Avatar Kim Millard
    10/03/2018
  • positive review  Awesome evening with fantastic canapés & butlers 🍑 relaxed fun & friendly highly recommended

    Rebecca Essex-Crosby Avatar Rebecca Essex-Crosby
    29/03/2019

    5 star review  Steve catered my parent’s 40th wedding anniversary. We enjoyed a delicious 5 course meal, tailored towards our tastes and food intolerances- perfectly executed by Steve. Correspondence and organisation was simple, dinner was cooked seamlessly around our evening timetable and the kitchen was spotless afterwards. Thanks Steve

    Harriet Portia Davies Avatar Harriet Portia Davies
    05/06/2018

    5 star review  Steve catered for a hen party we held on Saturday night. We had many different dietary requirements, and yet Steve worked it so that we all had the same canapés (they were incredible - full of flavour and visually stunning!), only 2 different choices for main and the same dessert. This went down so well with our guests who usually have to miss out on such meals. Steve was fantastic to deal with the whole way through, professional, efficient & wonderfully clean and tidy! And above all the food was on point. Rob who was serving on the night was great fun and really helped to make our evening special. I cannot recommend Steve & Rob enough, they made our night such a success - thank you!

    Sophie Gay Avatar Sophie Gay
    27/06/2017
  • 5 star review  Steve's food is incredible! Absolutely stunning presentation from canapés through to dessert and amazing tasting food. The gin cured salmon was to die for and the tenderest beef that cut like butter, finished with a perfectly scrumptious and beautifully served chocolate parfait. He is amazing and a genius with flavours! I'd highly recommend him to anyone.

    Imogen Grace Avatar Imogen Grace
    01/08/2016

    positive review  Myself, husband and six friends had the most amazing food prepared and cooked by Steve. James. We requested Fusion style food and Wow were we blown away. Fabulous canapés were served with chilled fizz. Crispy lotus root topped with crispy ginger and quails egg. Melt in the mouth marinated chicken thigh with dipping sauce. My taste buds were buzzing! Then a delicious starter included Thai noodle salad, slow cooked belly pork which just melted in the mouth. Prawn and pork wraps all with delicious dressings, drizzles and dips. Gorgeous main courses of fusion style, slow braised aromatic beef cheek, sticky rice, pickled cucumber and radish salad and Katzu chicken with spicy gravy. Superb choice of puddings too. Vanilla Panna cotta with Yuzu jelly, black sesame ice cream and a matcha tea tulle. Followed by a heavenly tart of crisp, sweet pastry filled with cream, lychees and topped with rose flavoured meringues, raspberries, raspberry sauce and white chocolate. Mmmmmm was the sound around the table all evening. It was a true feast of flavours.

    Jacks McDonnell Avatar Jacks McDonnell
    11/11/2018

    5 star review  Steve cooked my family the most fantastic meal when we were staying at a holiday house. We opted for Asian food and it was all wonderful and beautifully presented. Steve was very easy to communicate with and was clear about pricing and our options. He also catered to all the various allergies and dislikes of our party. I would recommend wholeheartedly.

    Biba Brown Avatar Biba Brown
    22/02/2018
  • 5 star review  We are a party of six who had the absolute pleasure of Steve cooking for us on Saturday night - What an amazing experience! Steve had been so good with his communications in the run up to the event, all the usual stresses of arranging a dinner party had been completely removed. My preparation consisted of nothing more than putting a few bottles of bubbly in the fridge. Steve turned up and is so friendly he just felt like one of us. The food was amazing - cooked to perfection and plenty to go round. The night was a roaring success and I do not believe I can give it full justice in this review. To be able to enjoy high end, restaurant quality food served with a smile in the comfort of your own home really is a unique experience -being able to share a glass of wine or two afterwards with the chef that made it for you makes it even more special. Thank you Steve for such a memorable evening.

    Katie Hopkins Avatar Katie Hopkins
    15/01/2018

    5 star review  We had steve cater for my mum's 50th birthday party Saturday afternoon. He came round a few hours before the party started and brought with him a whole variety of food. We gave him a few suggestions beforehand but most of it was his idea and everyone was impressed with what choices were there. He laid it all out with labels stating what each thing was and if it was suitable for vegetarians, he also prepared things like sandwiches at our house and everything else was also fresh. There were things there to meet everyones needs. The spread looked lovely and everyone complimented the food. There was also plenty there even though we're all big eaters and we had some left over! Definitely good for money! He also supplied paper plates and wooden cutlery so we didn't have to worry about a thing. Steve himself was really nice and friendly and professional. Would recommend to anyone and would use him again!

    Emma Boyall Avatar Emma Boyall
    06/11/2017

    positive review  Fab U lous....would definately recomend

    Penny Wood Avatar Penny Wood
    22/04/2019
  • 5 star review  Had a wonderful meal prepared and cooked by Steve for my 40th birthday family get-together. Steve was easy to communicate with beforehand and was very helpful sorting out our menu. On the day itself he was friendly, efficient and very tidy. The food was delicious and well presented inspiring excellent comments from all guests. It made a perfect evening for us to relax and enjoy top quality food with good company. Thank you so much Steve 🙂

    Helen Ellingham Avatar Helen Ellingham
    22/02/2017

    positive review  I went to the comfort food pop up evening, I wasn't sure what to expect but the evening was just delightful. The food was incredible, melt in your mouth meat and plenty of it. I was sat at a table of 7, the food brought ise together, we all got on really well and got talking until very late. All the food is to share so you can have a little or a much as you want. Don't forget to bring your own drink and a very empty stomach if you want to make it through the evening. I definitely recommend this slightly quirky set up, it makes a refreshing change from the old pub meal and gives you a chance to meet some new like minded people who will all share a love for food.

    Karine Leger Avatar Karine Leger
    25/02/2019

    5 star review  Utterly delicious ! The meal was utterly delicious !!! The courses kept coming...with immaculate presentation and so many different flavours and tastes which complemented one another... I was in heaven, probably was not much company as I was lost in all of its 'deliciousness' .... You would be exceptionally fortunate to be able to experience Steve James's modern dining experience...

    Andrea Mary Moran Avatar Andrea Mary Moran
    10/08/2017
  • 5 star review  Steve was absolutely fantastic throughout the whole time dealing with him. He was extremely responsive to messages initially to understand our requirements and was also very forthcoming with offering options for a bespoke menu. Based on this professionalism I was hopeful of a good meal, but I could not have expected just how fantastic it was. All eleven of our group were raving about the quality of the dishes and still are 3 weeks later. I thoroughly recommend Steve, his professionalism, service and food are exceptional.

    Blaine Carey Avatar Blaine Carey
    07/01/2017

    positive review  I booked Steve a year in advance as I wanted something special for my 40th Birthday (December 2018), about 2 months before I met with Steve and we discussed ideas and Steve prepared a lovely menu of 5 course for my 14 guests. Steve arrived on the party evening and everything was stress free, the food was fabulous, and the evening ran like clock work and my friends haven’t stopped talking about how excellent the food was. Thank you Steve for helping making my party fabulous.

    Sonia Raymond Avatar Sonia Raymond
    08/01/2019

    positive review  Steve has been and catered for my mother and father in law’s golden wedding. We are staying at Upton Grange near Weymouth and he was recommended by the owner of the cottages. He came and cooked an amazing meal just for them and it was wonderful. The food he cooked was in the words of my mother in law “simply the best food I’ve ever tasted, it was out of this world” The entire experience from the initial inquiry via email to the meal tonight has been faultless. I cannot recommend him enough. Thank you again for making the anniversary so special!

    Alison Tierney Avatar Alison Tierney
    17/08/2018
We cover the majority of Somerset and Dorset including: Weymouth, Sherborne, Shaftesbury, Bruton, Bridport, Dorchester, Glastonbury, Lyme Regis, Weston-Super-Mare and Yeovil. If you would like to know if we cover your area please get in touch and we would be happy to discuss this with you. Contact us
 If you some reviews of our work please send it to us so we can add it to this page or add it to our Facebook page
steve James personal chef reviews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *