Here is some of our reviews of what customers are saying about us! To see some pictures of the dishes cooked visit our gallery page. To see all the reviews on Facebook please visit our Facebook page here.

Reviews

Emma Boyall, Dorchester, 6th November 2017

We had steve cater for my mum’s 50th birthday party Saturday afternoon. He came round a few hours before the party started and brought with him a whole variety of food. We gave him a few suggestions beforehand but most of it was his idea and everyone was impressed with what choices were there. He laid it all out with labels stating what each thing was and if it was suitable for vegetarians, he also prepared things like sandwiches at our house and everything else was also fresh. There were things there to meet everyones needs. The spread looked lovely and everyone complimented the food. There was also plenty there even though we’re all big eaters and we had some left over! Definitely good for money! He also supplied paper plates and wooden cutlery so we didn’t have to worry about a thing. Steve himself was really nice and friendly and professional. Would recommend to anyone and would use him again!

 

Andrea Moran, Poundbury, 10th August 2017

Utterly delicious ! The meal was utterly delicious !!! The courses kept coming…with immaculate presentation and so many different flavours and tastes which complemented one another… I was in heaven, probably was not much company as I was lost in all of its ‘deliciousness’ …. You would be exceptionally fortunate to be able to experience Steve James’s modern dining experience

 

Nancy and Steve Lowe, Lytes Cary Manor, Somerton, Somerset 29th June 2017 

We were more than delighted that Steve James helped us with the catering for a large family celebration at Lytes Cary, a National Trust property in Somerset which we hired for the week.

Steve prepare 3 evening meals and a lunch, with three or four courses each, at various points during the week, with a “home cooking plus plus” approach served “family style” by Steve at the large dining table which seated all 14 of us (Some willing helpers from our various groups of family and friends helped with the serving up). From the outset Steve was extremely flexible and imaginative in helping design the menus (various intolerances, allergies and vegan requirements had to be taken into account for each meal) and helped us think through what standard of presentation and dish was appropriate. He helped create a friendly intimate family style we were aiming for, which was a challenge at such a large formal table. On the four days when he was with us Steve would arrive in good time, having prepared as much of the food as possible in advance, and he worked efficiently and calmly on his own to prepare the meals in the kitchen of the property where we stayed. The quality of the food quite simply was excellent throughout, with many imaginative dressings and ingredients and always beautifully presented. Quantities were never a problem either, Steve catered in a generous way on all occasions.

We and all our family and friends were hugely impressed by Steve and really enjoyed his catering. We have no hesitation in recommending Steve James and would very gladly ask for his help on similar family occasions in the future. Thank you once again, Steve, it was a real pleasure


Sophie Gay, Beer, Seaton, Devon 27th June 2017

Steve catered for a hen party we held on Saturday night. We had many different dietary requirements, and yet Steve worked it so that we all had the same canapés (they were incredible – full of flavour and visually stunning!), only 2 different choices for main and the same dessert. This went down so well with our guests who usually have to miss out on such meals. Steve was fantastic to deal with the whole way through, professional, efficient & wonderfully clean and tidy! And above all the food was on point.

Rob who was serving on the night was great fun and really helped to make our evening special.

I cannot recommend Steve & Rob enough, they made our night such a success – thank you!

 

Clare Trevillion, Stawley 3rd June 2017 

We just had Steve come and cook for a family birthday in Somerset and it was a truly amazing experience .
Steve did a selection of canapés all of which were great but my personal favourites were the squid ink flat breads topped with beetroot hummus and mackerel and the confit lamb neck spring rolls were to die for.
The beef for our main was delicious , tender and flavoursome .
We had two desserts -raspberry, vanilla and rosemary tart with rose water syrup & black sesame meringue Yuzu curd white chocolate and roasted apricots . They both looked so stunning we all agreed to have half each and were glad we did as both tasted divine.
After the meal Steve and Rob cleared everything away and the kitchen looked like they had never even visited .
This is the second time we have had Steve cook for us and I can’t wait for the next time !

I would like to thank Steve for an amazing meal on Thursday evening celebrating my parents birthday at Stawley Wood Farm House. Everyone was blown away by the food and the warm friendly and professional service we received. I can’t recommend him highly enough! Thank you once again.

Hattie Crockett 27th March 2017

Such an amazing chef! Last weekend I organised a hen do for my best friend in Weymouth. We asked Steve to cook for all 13 of us a three coursed meal. From the beginning it felt like being in a private hotel. The food preparation was flawless, the food was exceptional both the taste and presentation. It really was fine dining at your house with such a personal touch too. Also a little gift for the hen herself! When Steve left and we returned to the kitchen you would never of known he had been. It was cleaner than before he has started! A perfect combination of fine dining in the comfort of your own home! My only regret is we didn’t opt for the five courses!

 

 

Helen Ellingham 22nd February 2017

Had a wonderful meal prepared and cooked by Steve for my 40th birthday family get-together. Steve was easy to communicate with beforehand and was very helpful sorting out our menu. On the day itself he was friendly, efficient and very tidy. The food was delicious and well presented inspiring excellent comments from all guests. It made a perfect evening for us to relax and enjoy top quality food with good company. Thank you so much Steve 🙂

Lesley Waters 18th January 2017

I have known Steve James for quite a while now from when he started with us as a student at the cookery school. Over the years he has really impressed all of us at the school with his professionalism, passion for food and of course his cookery skills.On one memorable evening spent tasting his dishes, I had the pleasure of tasting the best panna cotta that I have ever eaten. It was served with a chilled compote in a glass teapot and it blew me away. Stephen James is a very talented chef with an eye for great detail. His menus are both stylish and modern and are truly delicious.

Alison Black 18th January 2017

Had the most amazing evening hosted by Stephen, food was absolutely  delicious.  Blue Stilton brioche, Ox Cheek and Panna cotta.  Ox cheek is not something I would
normally choose off the menu but this was cooked to perfection and full of flavour. I would definitely choose it again. Can’t wait for the next time Steve thank you so much.

Blaine Carey, Taunton, 7th January 2017

Steve was absolutely fantastic throughout the whole time dealing with him. He was extremely responsive to messages initially to understand our requirements and was also very forthcoming with offering options for a bespoke menu. Based on this professionalism I was hopeful of a good meal, but I could not have expected just how fantastic it was. All eleven of our group were raving about the quality of the dishes and still are 3 weeks later. I thoroughly recommend Steve, his professionalism, service and food are exceptional.

Juhi Juhi and Gary Neyland 3rd January 2017

We had Steve cater for our party of 12 on New Year’s Eve 2016. With a former newspaper food critic and two committed foodies this was going to be a tough audience. From the start Steve and his able assistant got us onside. A soufflé to die for and a flavour packed meat terrine, followed by a pork belly or homemade pie, then a delicious cheesecake or dreamy chocolate fondant to round the meal off. Everybody was raving about the food for the rest of the evening.
Book Steve now before he get’s his first Michelin star!!

Emma and Paul Harvey 4th December 2016

Steve and Rob catered for my husband’s 50th party last night. They cooked for 40 guests, including 13 children. The food was amazing and the service faultless. In fact, they went well beyond what we expected. Lovely guys and very capable. Highly recommended

Chris S 26th November 2016

Excellent evening with superb tasting menu dishes paired with lovely locally produced wine. Our host was very informative and passionate about their wine.(for the wine tasting menu at Melbury Vale Winery)

 

Paul Seamans 3rd October 2016

Thank you Stephen James for hosting a very special Dinner party in our home. Myself, my partner and guests were spoilt with your amazing menu and cocktails…!!! Congratulations on your brilliant food critique review by ‘Crumbs’ food magazine. If your ever looking to host your own dinner party and not have to worry what’s on the menu, then contact Stephen James. The guy is a Food Magician

Lisa Jayne Freeman 2nd October 2016

Thank you to Steve who catered a dinner party I attended, the food was of the highest standard and each course was well thought out and accompanied by a cocktail that complemented each dish perfectly. If I was going to recommend anything off the menu the pork belly is insanely delicious with Steve’s own home grown veg as an accompaniment. Thank you again

 

Rachael Pennington 12th September 2016

I was a dinner party guest where Steve was doing the cooking. All 3 courses, canapés and bread were absolutely fantastic. Restaurant quality food in your own home and one of the best meals I’ve ever eaten. I would highly recommend.

Abigail Warne and Simon Warne Poundbury 17th August 2016

Steve came to our house at the weekend to cook a three course meal for myself, my husband and 2 friends and I can hand on heart say it was one of the best meals I have EVER had. It was fine dining quality without the hassle of having to get ready to go out and even more of a luxury no one having to drive especially with the gorgeous cocktails that were produced to go alongside each course. The food was all excellent and beautifully presented but with my sweet tooth I can’t recommend the panna cotta that we had enough… I would order that time and time again, it was stunning.
The one thing we were both nervous about was having somebody else cook in our kitchen and then the clearing up afterwards but Steve respected the kitchen and left it just as he found it… A night off washing up in our home, a rare luxury!
If you want a night in with the same quality food as you would expect from a top quality restaurant we would definitely recommend that you book Steve, you won’t regret it. We look forward to booking you again soon, thank you so much.

 

 Reed Nykiforuk London 1st July 2016

Quite literally… Hand on Heart… Just had one of the best meals we have ever had. Ever. Impeccable. Delicious. Amazing. Thank you so much!

Imogen Grace, Yeovil, 1st August 2016

Steve’s food is incredible! Absolutely stunning presentation from canapés through to dessert and amazing tasting food. The gin cured salmon was to die for and the tenderest beef that cut like butter. It was finished with a perfectly scrumptious chocolate parfait. He is amazing and a genius with flavours! I’d highly recommend him to anyone.

Kate Sweeney, Yeovil 2nd July 2016

Steve made a dinner party for us and we were impressed from start to finish. Steve listened to our ideas and transformed them to restaurant standard dishes. They included a creative edge with flavour combinations that surpassed my expectations. He himself was friendly and very easy to work with. He made sure myself and our guests had an evening we intended and without any of the stress! Thank you again Steve! We shall be in touch for our next party.

 

Ross Brinsdon, Weston Super-Mare, 9th July 2016

We booked Steve James for a surprise 40th birthday dinner party, as we wanted something a little different and of course, extra special. Having not used a home chef before, we were not disappointed as the food was tasty, imaginative, along with a few hidden gems and prepared by a highly accomplished chef with an eye for the finer details. The standout dishes for our party we’re the pork (cooked three ways) and the strawberry bomb dessert (I can still taste this now!), these we’re truly delicious and amazingly presented too. A great evening was had by all and we will definitely be requiring Steve’s services in the future for another memorable evening.

 
Ria Toomer – from Burnham-On-Sea 23rd July 2016

I have recently used Steve James’ private dining services to cater for me, my partner and two friends. We all immensely enjoyed our evening where Steve prepared and served us 3 courses of amazingly tasty food which was presented as if we were in a high quality fine dining restaurant and all in the comfort of our own home. We have often been out for meals but have never been catered for in this unique, personal way and will definitely be planning an evening like this again. The presentation of food was beautiful, Steve was so friendly and left my kitchen as if nothing had happened in there!! As we could supply our own drinks and there was no need for taxis this ended up being a special yet affordable evening and the ease of booking and communication with Steve beforehand was fantastic. I would thoroughly recommend Steve and can’t wait for the next time!

 

We booked a food and wine tasting experience and we were not disappointed. A superb experience and a great informative wine experience. A must for anyone interested in locally produced wine. Our host and chef could not have been more welcoming and we would definitely go back for a Summer tour.
Review left on Trip advisor by Hudson-Dorset after visiting Melbury Vale Winery for the tasting menu we worked on with them November 2016
We cover the majority of Somerset and Dorset including: Weymouth, Sherborne, Shaftesbury, Bruton, Bridport, Dorchester, Glastonbury, Lyme Regis, Weston-Super-Mare and Yeovil. If you would like to know if we cover your area please get in touch and we would be happy to discuss this with you. Contact us
 If you some reviews of our work please send it to us so we can add it to this page or add it to our Facebook page

 

reviews https://www.facebook.com/stevejamesltd/

Braised and pressed pork belly with apple puree, celeriac remoulade, celeriac puree, spinach and red wine sauce

 Steve James caterer and Personal chef service that covers Somerset and Dorset including Weymouth, Sherborne, Bruton, Bridport, Dorchester,  Lyme Regis, Weston and Yeovil